Love doesn’t fly off the handle…

LOVE doesn’t fly off the handle

Attributes of LOVE

…to lose control of one’s emotions:to become very angry

I’d like to think I’ve grown beyond flying off the handle…

I’d like to think it was a stage I went through….

I’d like to think rage has no place in my life any longer…

For the most part that’s true.

When I tell people I used to yell and scream, curse, and throw things they find it difficult to imagine.

In school I was routinely marked off for lack of self-control. It wasn’t that I was violent in school…I just couldn’t sit still and stay focused. 

Part of that I’m sure was undiagnosed ADHD.  Part of it was moving as much as we did through my early years.  It was hard to feel like I belonged anywhere.  If I recall correctly, in the 2nd grade I was in 3 different schools in 3 different states.

Belonging anywhere wasn’t really an option.

My Dad was a bit of a hot head too.  He was known for being a pretty nice guy most of the time, but he was sure forceful enough if he thought he was right about something. For him, barking orders was normal and if you disagreed or didn’t do as he said his wrath was no joke.

I remember Jr high and high school most as the evening dinner table was a time of fear and trepidation.  His yelling and screaming at us as children was not pleasant and left us all a bit timid.  Maybe it had something to do with his military life experience…

As soon as I could I was out of there. 

I’ve learned over the years that flying off the handle doesn’t produce the results I want in my life.  It doesn’t express LOVE in a meaningful way.

I’ve learned that responding, instead of reacting goes a lot further.

I’ve learned not to be easily offended.

I’ve learned those things but there are times when patience is low, and tension is high, and it takes every ounce of self-control I have to remain calm.

Walking away helps.  Disconnecting from the stimulus gives me time to refocus and not burn bridges or destroy relationships.  Not always easy to do…

What about you?  What strategies do you use to keep from flying off the handle?  How do you process frustration and anger in stressful situations?

Wanna connect?  Let’s chat.

Thinking about y’all today…

You are valued…

You are loved…

You are ohh so precious…

And remember

Life’s too short  |  Be kind  |  Do good

Talk soon…

#lifecoach #pride2022 #blm #blacklivesmatter #community #faithfullylgbt #diversity #inclusion #lgbtqlifecoach #translifecoach #lgbtqsupporter #selfcare #findthepositive #mindset #LoveisLove #LifesTooShort #BeKind #DoGood #RadicalSelfacceptance #OneOfThem #SeeUs #transvisibility #ResponsibilityBreedsEmpowerment

Published by

Kelly Renee

...still One of a Kind Designed by God Certified Life Coach On the web. KellyReneeLifeCoach.com On Twitter. @khouske On Instagram. @kellyreneelifecoach On Facebook. @kellyreneelifecoach

Leave a comment